Top News Every Hour

Senate passes bills to establish polytechnic in Daura, Kwale, FCE Usugbenu-Irrua, others


The Senate today passed several bills for the establishment of 10 federal institutions across the country. President Muhammadu Buhari’s hometown of Daura is among the locations for the new institutions.

The passage of the bills followed the consideration of reports presented by the Chairman Senate Committee on Tertiary Institutions and TETFUND, Senator Barau Jibrin (APC, Kano).

The ten institutions are made up of five Polytechnics, two Universities, two Colleges of Education, and one Institute.

The Polytechnics are: Federal Polytechnic Daura (Katsina State), Federal Polytechnic Kabo (Kano State), Federal Polytechnic Ikom (Cross-River State), Federal Polytechnic Lantang (Plateau State), Federal Polytechnic Kwale (Delta State).

The Universities are: Federal University of Education Aguleri (Anambra State) and Federal university of Technology Manchok (Kaduna State).

The Colleges of Education are: Federal College of Education (Technical) Arochukwu (Abia State) and Federal College of Education, Usugbenu-Irrua (Edo State).

The Senate also passed National Institute of Construction Technology and Management Establishment Bill.

In his remarks, the Presiding Officer and Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu said that the passage of the bills is line with an earlier resolution of the red chamber that every state should have a federal University, Polytechnic, and College of Education.

Comments are closed.